Random Thoughts on Life and Work

September 26, 2006

Birthday Fun

Filed under: Charity,Marketing,Marketing Communications,NASCAR,Non-Profit,Promotion — Darren Mullenix @ 7:54 am

I have been off for a bit and will probably continue to be a bit sporadic.  Our heavy season with Combined Federal Campaign events is heating up and it means I am travelling a bit more than I normally do.  In fact, a lot more.

I thought I would post a bit of birthday fun.  My wonderful wife blessed me with the birthday present of a lifetime on Friday last week.  18 laps with the Richard Petty Driving Experience.  I got to drive in a fully prepared NASCAR race car and go just as fast as they would let me.  Woohoo.  144mph makes a mile and a half go by really fast!  I well realize that isn’t close to what the big boys do but it sure was fun for me.  Also gave me a new perspective on what they do week after week. 

One of the interesting things that I noted during the afternoon was the prominence of the promotion for the Victory Junction Gang Camp.  This is the camp that was started by the Petty family to provide a fun experience for kids with terminal illnesses.  There was a promotion during the video time, there was a “spare change” collection bin in front of the merchandise truck, and there were other opportunities throughout the day.  It was wonderful to see the use of a corporate type activity to promote the camp.  Various drivers and parts of NASCAR are heavily involved in the camp.

From a non-profit perspective, NASCAR provides a huge audience for promotional opportunities.  We have had the opportunity in the past to network with a couple of the teams who provided some promotion for us in the past.  It has been a wonderful relationship but unfortunately somewhat shortlived.  Maybe some of you marketing gurus can figure out a way to build a relationship in the NASCAR world that really makes sense. 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

