Random Thoughts on Life and Work

October 25, 2007

I’m Back

Filed under: Charities,Charity,Non-Profit,Philanthropy,Promotion — Darren Mullenix @ 9:45 am

Okay, haven’t posted in a while (make that a long while) but that isn’t to say nothing is happening.  Been busy with Combined Federal Campaign event activity, travels, and general life stuff.

Just a note about something I learned during the CFC time period.  I went to an event in Houston to hand out material to Houston municipal employees.  Really poor event.  Outside, 90+ degrees, no shade, poorly attended, etc.  Maybe met about 60 – 90 people.  However, the flight home may have been worth it all. 

I sat next to a gentleman who was genuinely curious about what we do and how.  Somewhat familiar with our organization but only certain aspects.  As I talked with him a very valuable lesson was driven home – You had better know your mission and a good bit about what you do.  Especially if your organization has a wide reach as mine does.  And better yet, you should be prepared with something that will grab the heart of your listener.  Typically, I don’t talk to people when I travel on airplanes.  I like to withdraw and relax.  Especially after a long day of meeting people.  However this was an opportunity that was placed in my path for a reason.

I don’t know what will come of that discussion.  I was able to send him some follow-up information about one of our projects and since he is a person of influence he may be able to carry that out to others.

Always be prepared to tell your story.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

