Random Thoughts on Life and Work

March 15, 2011

What Do You Bring?

Filed under: Charities,Charity,Management,Non-Profit,Strategy,Work — Darren Mullenix @ 8:29 am

An interesting post this morning by Seth Godin on his blog.  You can see it HERE.

When work becomes “just a job” why do you stay?  Security?  Fear?  Lack of motivation?

Maybe it is time to ask yourself, “Why?”  Why am I still here?  Why is this job important?  Why will my coworkers miss me if I leave?  Will my coworkers miss me?

I’ve been on an interesting ride lately and not sure what to make of it.  Working in a non-profit can be both exhilarating and frustrating at the same time.  There’s a “call” to make a difference in the world.  That’s what brought me here.  But what am I bringing to the organization?  And is it valued and needed?  If not, maybe I should take it somewhere else.

It’s more than just doing a good job.  Anyone, with just a little bit of effort, can do that.

What do you bring?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

