Random Thoughts on Life and Work

August 26, 2013

A Passion For Your Product

Filed under: Non-Profit — Darren Mullenix @ 8:06 am

I’m a Subaru owner (2) and proud of it. When I was young, my parents owned an early version of a Subaru wagon that was the pre-cursor to the Outback. We loved it. It went just about anywhere which was a good thing because living in Africa meant it had to handle some rough stuff. I guess that early love stuck. I told myself that someday I would own a WRX – the rally inspired model. Eventually, I did!

Subaru has done an interesting thing. They have created the Subaru Total Badge of Ownership. Subaru owners can order badges that show how many Subarus they currently own or have owned over time. You can add on Lifestyle badges that share your passions. All of this is FREE. (I have my first set on one of my vehicles.)

What I love about this concept is the passionate engagement that Subaru encourages. For a minimal cost, Subaru encourages its owners/customers to talk about its product. Not everyone will participate, but those who do are passionate about their car(s). And aren’t those the ones that we want to talk the most?

The challenge for us is to develop a way for our most passionate supporters to share their love of our organization. Some may even be willing to pay for it. For you, badges are likely not the thing that fits. Consider the following –

  • Clothing
  • Stickers
  • Temporary (or permanent?) tattoos
  • Event participation (cycling, running, etc)
  • Tools to share via social media, email, etc

How simple is up to you and your budget. Your fans will eat it up!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

